March skincare empties

March skincare empties
Clinique mild clarifying lotion. January Labs restorative tonic mist. Ren Omega 3 Optimum Skin Oil. The Body Shop seaweed clarifying night treatment.
  • Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion

This is my most beloved toner (salicylic acid). It’s strong enough to keep acne at bay, it’s gentle enough to not irritate my skin. It leaves my skin soft after using. My heart was broken to pieces when it was discontinued. I refused to use the new one (one, because I’m petty like that. two, because it’s not worth it.) and went on a craze to find new replacement. I ended up with Paula’s Choice Resist 2% BHA Daily Pore-Refining Treatment.

I wish I paid more attention at the “similar products” section on Caroline’s blog post, it could have saved me so much money and heartaches. I still have Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Extreme Night Pads (the conclusion here is that my skin doesn’t like glycolic acid), so if you live in Helsinki and want to have it, let me know and I will give it to you. If you don’t live in Helsinki and want to have it, let me know anyway and I can send it to you for free, you just need to pay for shipping fee (I will send via Posti, I’m not sure but the cost might be high though – because, Finland!). I gave First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads to Oanh and last time we talked it wasn’t suitable for her skin either, so you can ask for it too.

Oh yeah, I finished this Clinique mild lotion only now because I was afraid of using it up before I managed to find a replacement. I simply didn’t feel safe without it. Now that my skin seems to get along well with Paula’s Choice toner, I could finally bid Mild goodbye.

  • January Labs Restorative Tonic Mist

After finishing up Clinique moisture surge face spray, I bought this mist at the end of May last year. I used it every single day in the morning. When I first used it, I still remember how surprised I was for how smooth my skin felt. I will consider buying it again. Not right now though, because there are other mists I want to try and use up first.

I bought mine from Cult Beauty.

  • Ren Omega 3 Optimum Skin Oil

I have combination skin and this oil is the only oil serum I use in the morning daily. It’s light, not greasy, and works well with my day moisturizer (The Body Shop Seaweed Oil-Control Gel Cream). Caroline said it smells similar to a light citrus, to me it smells like omega 3 oil.

I use it every single day. I bought this one from Green Soul Cosmetics, and the current one I’m using from feelunique (I go with whichever has the best offer in combination with other products I want to buy at the time).

  • The Body Shop seaweed clarifying night treatment

This is an old one because I literally just used one drop per night on my nose. I don’t remember how I came to use two different moisturizers on my face… Anyway, at night, I used to use this one for my nose and other moisturizers for the rest of the face. Recently, in the morning, I use the seaweed day gel for nose and this night gel for the rest of the face. That’s how I was able to finish it.

It sounds complicated but it works for me. If I feel my skin is on drier side then I will use this gel for the rest of the face (except my nose) in the morning. Otherwise, I will use it only for my nose at night.

It’s a simple moisturizer and suitable for my skin. I don’t have to think when I use it. If my skin happens to have some reactions somehow, I know it won’t be from this.

I buy this from The Body Shop stores in Finland.

  • another thing I tried which wasn’t skincare-related but beauty-related was Rahua Voluminous Shampoo and Conditioner.

I got them as samples which went along with an order from Content Beauty. the shampoo, in particular, made my hair feel stripped and stung my eyes. in combination they were not too bad, but considering their price, I think I will stick to my OGX.


Most of the products I use are from Caroline Hirons‘ recommendations. I got to know her about two years ago (from a post titled The best things about being in your 40s), and it changed the way I approached skincare dramatically. I went from reading her blog occasionally to becoming an avid reader and following all of her channels – Instagram, YouTube, and twitter. In a way, I was even happy when my old phone died, because then it meant with a new phone I could watch her Insta stories too. And the more I read/watch other bloggers, the more I appreciate her.

This blog of mine is simply a way for me to write about my personal skincare journey, how I feel about certain products/brands/companies, and I hope at times I will be able to give you some tips on how I navigate purchasing skincare products in Finland (which sometimes poses to be a challenge for me and what I learned from it). I used to write on facebook, but I’m drifting away from it these days. If you want a delightful and informative read with broader range of everything skincare, please do hop over to Caroline’s blog. I strongly recommend.

Leave a Reply

