September empties

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
The Body Shop Seaweed Deep Cleansing Gel Wash. The Body Shop Seaweed Oil-Control Gel Cream. May Lindstrom The Honey Mud. Tata Harper Refreshing Cleanser.

All the plans I had for Sunday were pushed to Saturday, so here I am writing on the 1st of October.

  • The Body Shop Seaweed Cleansing Gel Wash 125ml

This is one of those things that are with me for a long time, it’s become a habit to use them over and over again without checking to know if they’re really suitable.

I started using this cleanser when I didn’t know anything about skincare and didn’t read labels. When I ran out of it, I was thinking of repurchasing. At the store though, I checked its ingredient list (actually for the first time ever) and realized it has SLES as the second ingredient – right after Aqua/Water. Needless to say, I didn’t repurchase.

  • The Body Shop Seaweed Oil-Control Gel Cream 50ml

The ingredient list didn’t scream out anything too bad to my amateur eyes. I did repurchase it, because it doesn’t irritate my skin and is good at oil-control. When I use it in conjunction with hydrating toner, mist, and oil, it’s moisturizing enough. It’s not an exceptional day cream that could wow me or anything, but it’s familiar and comfortable. And sometimes that’s all I need.

  • May Lindstrom The Honey Mud (sample)

I got this sample from Naturelle during their 1st year anniversary recently, but I’m not sure if they still carry May Lindstrom line or not. I mean, usually when something is out of stock, they would only mark it as out of stock and the products would still be available for you to see. Now I can’t find anything from the brand anymore and its name is not there either. The Pendulum Potion was released globally about a week ago and Naturelle didn’t mention anything about it. I guess it’s safe to assume we won’t find May Lindstrom products there anymore?

Anyway, there are other places in Finland that still carry the brand, like Liinun and Jolie, so we could still try things out. I haven’t had any experiences with these two, but we’ll see.

Back to this sample. As usual, I’m in forever search for the perfect cleanser, something that’s gentle but effective, something that’s not physical exfoliator or requires washcloths, something that’s no-nonsense, easy to use, but still enjoyable. The Honey Mud seemed to tick the boxes. People said they enjoy The Honey Mud more as a mask because of its thick texture, but when I was at Naturelle, the girl there added a bit of The Jasmine Garden to it and the mixture spread out easily and smoothly. It looked pretty nice and I wanted to try.

The Honey Mud smelled like chocolate pudding to me. It wasn’t too hard to spread on skin, especially on damp/wet skin. I found it a bit hard to get the right amount right off the bat though, since if I double-dip with wet fingers then that would make the product in the pot turn milky. I know double-dip is bad, but I haven’t gotten the habit of using spoon to scoop products out. That’s why I prefer tube or bottles with pump because it’s hygienic and I have better control of how much I would get.

Then I felt this cleanser left a bit of residue on skin after cleansing. It reminded me of the Plié cleanser from Jordan Samuel. I got the idea from reading and watching here and there that it was a layer of moisture and should be fine to be left on skin, and I could wash it away with washcloth if I like. I don’t like to feel cleanser residue on skin and I don’t want to use washcloth, so there’s that.

After seeing it in action at the store, I was so sure I would buy the full size. Now when I’ve tried it on my skin for a couple of times, I’m not so sure anymore. I’m thinking of sending email to May Lindstrom customer service to ask a couple of things, maybe then I will know better how to play around with her products to suit my specific preferences.

  • Tata Harper Refreshing Cleanser 125ml

I might have bought this again if it wasn’t so expensive. It has some sort of apricot smell to me, which I didn’t know I would like but I did. It’s gentle enough to use even when my skin is sensitized. It’s also effective to remove dirt (not make-up. or maybe it does, I can’t confirm because I don’t use make-up). Honestly, it’s hard to tell if there’s anything about it that I don’t like. Maybe willow bark? But I’ve decided to not use BHA toner frequently anymore so this might actually be good to have. The texture could be a bit more cushion-y for my taste, but then that would be too nitpick-y. I can’t find anything bad really, I think it’s the closest to my imagination of a perfect cleanser. I mean, it’s even contained in a green frosted-glass bottle with a pump! Its price though, hm… Maybe I will repurchase when there’s a good deal around.

This is the first Tata Harper product that I finish. I got it on 11th July from Cult Beauty. I used it quite often, almost twice a day everyday. Lasted me about 2.5 months.

Leave a Reply

